Time Variance and the Proposed Timeline

Time Variance and the Proposed Timeline

Spoiler alert, this is not about the TVA, Loki or the MCU.

Just before the end of the contribution period of the initial stage of the Outreachy internship, we were asked to consult with our mentors and come up with a timeline for completing the project offered by the various organisations we contributed to. I only contributed to the project offered by the Common Workflow Lab. I had quite a huddle of learning to overcome, but felt totally up to the challenge. Fast forward to now, the internship is over a month old and I am still learning more about the project, about collaborating with senior developers, about python and about programming in general.

I initially proposed that I would be half-way done with the project by now, but my estimation was off by a few days. Progress has been very steady though, with the help of my mentors, I have been able to make meaningful contributions to the project and, most recently, I achieved feature parity with the older implementation of the wdl2cwl translator by Dinithi Wickramaratne (also an Outreachy alumni).

New features soon to be implemented are, support multiple tasks in one file (this is done and waiting to be merged, just have to run tests with data), support WDL ceil function, support WDL struct expressions, etc.

The goal is to convert a single real-world WDL pipline and I hope, believe even, that I can achieve this.

Special thanks to my mentors Micheal Crusoe, Bruno P. Kinoshita and Melissa Black for maintaining, and keeping me steady through, this one sacred (proposed) timeline.